May 2020 Inku Crate

***This is not a sponsored post. I purchased this box with my own money.***

**Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, packages from Japan Crate and Tokyo Treat were very delayed starting with April shipments. I am will waiting on my April Inku Crate, May Japan Crate and Tokyo Treat, and June Japan Crate and Inku Crate. July Japan Crate and Inku Crate should arrive on time due to their new shipping with DHL.**

Finally I have a crate that I’ve been dying to post on here! Due to the pandemic stuff has been delayed but I got one of my packages from Japan Crate! In March, Japan Crate released a new crate line called the Inku Crate, and its all stationary! I did get the March Crate, but I didn’t write a post for it because I didn’t think about it at the time, sorry about that. My April crate is still in transit, so when it does arrive I’ll get a post up, but today we have the May Inku Crate!

20200616_174106

I love how cute the pamphlet is, and I wish the box was a bit smaller because there’s really not a lot taking up room, but I do understand why its the size it is, considering what’s supposed to be in the April and June crates!

So the first two items are two different kinds of washi stickers/tape! The first is a sticker sheet of parakeets, and they have the texture of washi, so they feel a little papery but they’re totally cute. The next is a roll of washi tape that’s called Ribbon Washi Tape in the pamphlet, and I got a pink one with bunnies on it!

Next we have a sticker book! This book apparently is for storing stickers, and you can even remove and restick the stickers! It sounds perfect for me haha. We’ve also got a super cute animal themed letter set, and a Hello Kitty pen! The pen has her wearing different Japanese outfits and its writes in black ink!

The last two items are a pack of stickers featuring traditional Japanese imagery, and a memo set with a pad that looks like Mt. Fuji and paper clips in the same shape! I love both of these items so much and can’t wait to use them!

20200616_174347

There’s the May Inku Crate! I feel lucky to have gotten pink things like the pen and washi tape, because I just love the color pink lol. I’m gonna have to use some of this stuff in my journal!

As I said, I’m waiting for my April and June Inku Crates now, so when they get here, posts will be up and I can’t wait to share what’s in them!

Stickii Club June 2020 Cute and Pop Packs

***This is not a sponsored post. I purchased these packs with my own money.***

Welcome back to another Stickii Club post! Today I’ve got the June Cute Pack and Pop Pack because, again, I NEEDED BOTH. My little 6-ring binder is going to be full of stickers soon if I keep purchasing two packs a month, haha!

The themes for this month were Cherry Woods for the Cute Pack and Master Builder for the Pop Pack! I actually DO have a favorite pack this month, but I’ll say which one it is at the end! Let’s go ahead and take a look at these two packs and what my favorites from each of them were!

All right, so the Cute Pack this month is definitely cute with the outdoors theme! So we’ve got seven sticker sheets, a cute little notepad with a camping bunny and squirrel, a small set of mushroom creature sticker flakes, and a patch sticker of a mushroom creature in a little leaf both (its like a patch you sew onto a bag or jacket!) The sticker sheets include bears on bicycles, fancy looking woodland creatures, some interesting woodland creatures with faces (I’m not sure about this one haha), the same camping bunny and squirrel from the notepad, camping hamsters, acorns with emotions, and foxes doing various things! I think I’m going to say my favorites are the sticker flakes, camping bunny and squirrel, and the foxes!

And here’s the June Pop Pack! The Master Builder theme came with a multicolor notepad, washi sticker flakes, and eight sticker sheets! The sheets are architecture sketches, two sheets of witches and girls in fancy windows, different doors, geometric stamp-like stickers, blueprint washi strips, building block stickers, and skyline index flags! From this pack, I have to say my favorites are the washi flakes, the windows, and the blue washi strips!

So those are the packs I got this month! I haven’t been interested in any of the retro packs I’ve seen yet, so I’ve only been getting the Cute and Pop packs so far. Maybe one day a retro pack will speak to me! As for these two, I have to say that my favorite pack this month was actually the Master Builder Pop Pack. I really love how different everything is and I can definitely use these stickers for my journal and probably some sticker collages! The Cheery Woods Cute Pack is going to be harder to figure out what I want to do with but I’m sure I’ll figure something out!

Thanks for reading and I’ll have another post in two days!

Stickii Club May 2020 Cute Pack and Pop Pack

***This is not a sponsored post. I purchased these packs with my own money.***

Finally I’m back with a Stickii Pack post! No these weren’t late, I just didn’t have a chance to put this up last month haha. I decided to purchase both the Cute Pack and Pop Pack for May as I loved the previews and the themes for both!

20200514_121435

I love the pink and purple envelopes these come in! The themes we had this month were Hangry for the Pop Pack and Under the Sea for the Cute Pack! We’ll start with the Pop Pack!

So WOW, such cute stuff in this pack! We’ve got a peach soda notepad, ice cream chapter paper clip, Hangry holo sticker, “I am hangry” memo pad”, and six different sticker sheets! The different sheets include fast foods, hangry cats, daily food stickers, CATS AS DIFFERENT DRINKS, different bao buns, and some Japanese snacks! I absolutely love this pack, its all so cute! I think my favorite things would be the peach soda pad, the hangry memo pad, and the sticker sheet of cats as drinks!

Now for the Cute Pack! I love sea life stickers and stationary, its always so cute! This pack came with seashell sticker flakes, a seashell paper clip, an octopus sticker note pad, a tiny letter set, and six sticker sheets as well! These sheets were seals as and with different foods, a sheet of letters and numbers, beach themed stickers, super cute transparent foods and drinks, different sea creatures, and a sheet full of tiny beach themed stickers like flip flops and bathing suits. Another pack that I just loved, and I’m excited to use! My favorites from this pack are the sticker flakes, sea creatures sheet, and the transparent foods and drinks!

So the May packs were SUPER CUTE. I’m torn on which is my favorite, I honestly can’t pick! Both of these packs have a home in my A5 6-ring binder with the April Cute Pack, and I’m excited to continue adding to it with future packs! I am starting to use stickers from my MASSIVE collection in my journal, and I have a plan for sticker collages that I’ll probably put here once I start them!

I’ll have another post on Friday with the June 2020 Pop Pack and Cute Pack!

 

Stickii Club April 2020 Cute Pack

***This is NOT  a sponsored post. I found this subscription pack on Instagram, got curious and excited, and subscribed with my own money.***

At the beginning of April, I was looking through my Instagram and had an ad for a subscription service called Stickii Club pop up while I was scrolling. If the name didn’t make it obvious, its a subscription service for stickers and I actually have a massive collection of stickers, which spans over THREE full binders so far.

I saw the Cute pack theme, which was I ❤ Stationary, and I immediately went for it. I mean, $11 after shipping for a bunch of cute stickers? Heck yes!

20200505_175439

Like look how cute this pack is! Stickii Club has three different pack themes: Cute, Retro, and Pop, and each one comes with this sorter to hold all of them during transit and after you get them! I actually bought a cute, purple 6-ring binder to hold these because I knew I was going to stick with this subscription after this first set.

20200505_175916

So this is one of the first stickers they give you. It attaches to two of the corners of your Stickii storage so you remember what theme the pack was later on!

20200505_175544

The first stickers are these super cute stationary animals. We’ve got a little bear tape dispenser, a bunny container, and a cat pouch. They are so cute and the colors are so vibrant.

20200505_175834

Next are these really adorable washi tape strips! They’re cut down to be the perfect size to add a bit of cute to your journal or artwork, and I just love them! I do have some plans for cute stuff with these stickers, so these will be great.

 

We also got eight full sized sheets of stickers! Of course we got one with the animal stationary, one that kind of has some parts that remind me of Beastars, some letter based stickers, mailboxes, pencils and pens, a cute one with a deer delivering letters, and shiba inu page flags! A few of these sheets are also textured, they aren’t smooth, flat stickers, and I love that we got something different, I’m not sure if I have many textured stickers in my collection. (There is a better detailed post of these sheets on my Instagram.)

And that’s the April Cute pack. I have the May Cute pack and Pop pack on my subscription for this month, and I can’t wait to get them and show off more cute stickers!

 

 

TokyoTreat April 2020

***This is not a sponsored post. I purchased this box with my own money.***

Well, its been quite a long time since I’ve posted anything here, but let’s change that with a Tokyo Treat review. I ended up getting the April box due to the Sakura theme and because I couldn’t have the Coca Cola in the April JapanCrate due to health reasons right now. However, the Tokyo Treat crate was *perfect* and I’m so glad to have it!

Look at all those good snacks and that cute pamphlet! I’m so excited to try everything!

20200410_124607

First off, we have the Sakura mochi KitKats and the wasabi Cheetos. Now the KitKats I was so beyond excited for, because I’ve wanted to try them for so long! It has a sweet taste with a slight floral note, and I’ve noticed with this one and another mochi KitKat that there’s another taste to it which I assume is the red bean paste, but I actually really love it!

As for the Cheetos, I really enjoy wasabi flavored snacks and these are no exception. There’s a good spice and heat to them with the cheesy flavor, and I really like them! I have had these before in a JapanCrate now, but they’re still good!

20200410_124632

Next we have a nice little group of snacks. From left to right, we have the Sakura Milk Caramel Corn, Pandaro Butter Cookies, Mr. Onion Snacks, New Mochi Taro Snacks, and Turtle Crackers. Lots of salty and a couple sweet, but that’s totally ok. I love savory Japanese snacks almost as much as I love their matcha snacks.

First, we have the Sakura Milk Tohato Corn. I love Tohato Corn snacks and this one was actually really good. I didn’t get much of a Sakura flavor from it, but the milk flavor was definitely there. I do think I like the matcha Tohato Corn better than this one though.

Next is the Pandaro Butter Cookies! I opened this and got a good smell of butter, wow. It’s a really good, sweet and salty butter cookie! The taste is so buttery with some sweetness and it was so good!

The Mr. Onion Snacks were also super good. They didn’t have a strong onion flavor like I expected, but I liked them! They were a good afternoon snack.

So the Turtle Crackers. They’re a little rice cracker shaped like a turtle! They have a sight sweet taste to them in addition to the savory, and I like it! They were a good little snack while I started playing Mystic Messenger lol!

The New Taro Mochi Snacks are another small packet of rice crackers with a savory and salty flavor to them. I really enjoyed the light texture and the flavor as a snack while working!

20200410_124704

The next set of snacks is an interesting bunch. We have Taiarare Crackers, Aji Curry Chips, Salty Full Moon Pon, Chocolate Umaibo, Sour Cider Gummy, Yamato Salty Fries, Mashro, and Banana Man. That last one is not a joke haha.

First, the Taiarare Crackers. These I expected to have some kind of fish flavor to them, but they were really just salty and tasty!

The Aji Curry Chips were really good too! There was a good hit of spice from the curry, but it wasn’t overpowering or too much.

So I forgot this one was called the Salty Full Moon Pan, and I expected sweet when I opened it lol. It was super, super salty and crispy. Definitely needed to have water with it haha!

So I’ve had the Chocolate Umaibo before, and its a chocolate covered corn snack. Its good, not my favorite things even though there’s chocolate, but I like it well enough.

The Sour Cider Gummy is also one I’ve had before. Its a soda flavored gummy with a sour powder on it. I’ve had differing experiences with the sourness and this one was a bit more sour then past ones! I do like it though!

The Yamato Salty Fries were just that they were a salty, crispy chip that was like a very light French fry. Not bad, but not my favorite.

Masharo was simply a marshmallow snack. It was sweet and chewy, and really good. It didn’t have a filling though.

Finally for this set of snacks, the Banana Man. This was a yellow colored chocolate covered banana flavored marshmallow with a chocolate center. I opened it and the scent of banana was so strong! But I ended up really liking it!

20200410_124719

The final items (well kind of) are the Sakura Pocky and the Sakura Scented Nectar Peach drink!

The Sakura Pocky has a bit of salt on it, and that really adds to the flavor. Its a light, sweet flavor and I really liked it. I’m super glad it came with four packs in the box, because I can portion them out and eat them a little bit at a time instead of all at once lol.

The drink is a Sakura Scented Nectar Peach. When I opened this I tried to see if I could smell the sakura scent, but it smelled like Play-Doh at first! I was super concerned but after a minute or two of it sitting while I had some of my lunch, it started to smell more peachy and it tasty just like a peach juice, but there was the slightest bit of a Play-Doh scent still. I really didn’t enjoy that part at all, but the taste was good.

20200410_124734

Last item for real this time haha. I got this box of cookies using a code that Tokyo Treat had going at the time! They have a Sakura cream in the middle and a nice crispy cookie outside. They were so good!! I really loved how they weren’t too sweet, and having just two at a time was enough. I’d love to gave these again sometime!

20200410_124921

So April’s Tokyo Treat was actually a really good box! I’m excited to get the May box, and the May Japan Crate as well, and there’s a couple other boxes I’m waiting for that aren’t snack related so those will be a lot of fun to post about. I’ll be back with a post whenever one of those boxes shows up at my house haha!

New Art and Pokemon Blog

Hey everyone! I know I haven’t been around lately (final semester of college is KILLING ME), but I decided to make a new blog specifically for all my art and Pokemon stuff!

Art will include traditional pencil and paper works, as well as digital art such as Twitch layouts (as I do stream now *cough* twitch.tv/sakuraprisma *cough*) and my current favorite thing to do, which is color Horikoshi’s My Hero Academia sketches he puts on his twitter, as well as some manga panels. I’ll also post any and all cross stitching and crochet works there as well now.

The Pokemon aspect will mostly include my shiny Pokemon finds. I’m not a hardcore hunter because I don’t have a ton of time to do so, but it’s something I do enjoy in my free time.

So, if you’d like to follow this new blog to see my art journey and such, please give it a follow! https://sakuraprisma.wordpress.com/

Good Riddance 2018

Well it’s been a very long time since I (purposefully) updated this blog, so, uh, hi again.

2018 was not the best year, by any means. I’ve had my spiritual battles throughout, and nothing big really happened to me, honestly. I’m still in college, but finishing up this coming May. I’m hoping and praying for 2019 to be a better year for my heart and spirit, and I’m going to work to truly deepen my relationship with God. That’s the biggest thing I want to do this year.

I watched a lot of anime last year, getting into My Hero Academia and Free more than anything, but I did finish Assassination Classroom at last (and cried like a baby at the end)! I also got into the Ace Attorney anime and game series, and omg, I love it so much. I’m on the Apollo Justice game right now and working my way through it!

I’ve read almost all of the My Hero Academia manga that’s out, and I got into The Ancient Magus’ Bride as well. Fell way behind on Boruto but I’ll try to catch up on it eventually. I’m planning to start reading The Promised Neverland soon, and Haikyu! I started watching Haikyu recently and I honestly enjoy it! I’m surprised I like these sports anime as much as I do, but I guess I did always have a love for Prince of Tennis when I was younger.

So, apart from that stuff, what’s going to happen with this blog?

I don’t know. But I want to get started back with posting again. I don’t really know at the moment if I can keep a consistent schedule right now, but I want to at least start posting weekly either something artsy or about anime and manga. I got back into crochet in October and while I need to get more of the yarn I like, I’ll probably work on making more things that way, and I started back to cross stitching on my Beauty and the Beast kit as well, with the hopes of finishing that this year.

I don’t really have plans to starting posting again about the sticker diary, I kind of fell off that but I do collect stickers still. It’s mostly planner stickers now and I have a really nice planner to use them in for this year, so maybe I’ll post planner stickers when I buy more, I’m not sure yet.

For now, I wanted to update and say hi again, I’m still alive just super busy and doing other things, trying to take care of myself before anything else. I hope to be back soon! ❤

Naruto Volume 13

***VizMedia did not have a hand in this post other than the publication of the series in the US. They did not provide me with a copy of this book to review. It was done for fun, not monetary gain.***

Welcome back to our manga summary&reviews, at last!! I’m so glad to be back at this, I’ve missed it so much! We’re going to try and power through to finish Naruto, so we can move on to Boruto, Assassination Classroom, and other manga! Yes, I will be doing a post about the Naruto ten chapter spin-off, The Seventh Hokage and the Scarlet Spring, so just please wait for that! 🙂

Because I’m going to power through Naruto, I will be attempting to post EVERY SINGLE WEEKDAY DAY until we’re DONE with this series!! If I miss a day here or there, please forgive me. This is the longest manga series I’ve read and this will be my third or fourth time through it, so I may need a break every few days! This is part of why the posts will be exclusively on weekdays, and because of hwo my semester is laid out, I should be able to read a volume a day and get a post up as well!  Sound good?? I hope so, because we’re starting this right now!!

The last volume ended with Shikamaru forfeiting his match to Remark, which surprised everyone in the end. Ino rages a bit at Choji about it, while Naruto hops down from the viewing area and starts to yell at Shikamaru. Instead of taking the yelling, Shikamaru tells Naruto that there was a match even he was looking forward to seeing, that being Sasuke vs Gaara. During this, Might Guy and Rock Lee arrive at the arena in time to see Sasuke’s match, and Lee learns that Naruto defeated Neji. For a just a moment he’s shown to be upset about it, before silently congratulating Naruto.

Sakura of course is worried about why Sasuke hasn’t shown up (she’s not seen him since the last part of the exam and if worried about the curse mark). The Third Hokage is given a message from Kakashi, and judt a few momenta later Kakashi and Sasuke finally appear, just in time for the match. (Sidenote: Sasuke’s outfit at this part is my favorite of his outfits apart from when he’s an adult. ( ´∀`)ノ~ ♡ He looks so nice in all black!!)

After a bit of banter between Naruto and Sasuke, the former and Shikamaru start to make their way back to the viewing area, but are stopped by the sight of Gaara murdering two ninja from another village. They had been hired to get him to quit so their master’s bet on Sasuke winning would happen, but of course Gaara wasn’t just going to quit, and took their lives instead, before heading to the arena’s battlefield.

Just before the match starts, Kakashi, Guy, and Lee make their way to stay near Sakura and the others to see the match. Sakura is very upset Kakashi never stayed in contact with her during the last month, but after he reassures her that Sasuke’s mark is nothing to worry about, she come down. Kakashi however is a bit worrisome about the lackluster ANBU presence there.

As soon as the match begins, Gaara attacks Sasuke with his sand, causing the latyer to move back to avoid being hit. The strange thing is that Gaara begins speaking to “mother” and promising to give her tasty blood. Ignoring this, Sasuke begins an onslaut of Taijutsu maneuvers, attacking Gaara and his sand clones and shield, to the point his speed and moves begin to mimic Lee, who becomes heartbreakingly jealous at hearing Ino praise Naruto and Sasuke to Sakura.

Sasuke’s speed with his Taijutsu moves keep Gaara on his toes for a bit, before he turns in with a Shield of sand covering him, and protecting him from Sasuke’s attack. Although his Taijutsu can’t break through the sand shield, Sasuke has one move that he’s fairly confident can break through the sand. While that’s going on, Naruto and Shikamaru are still in a slight state of shock over Gaara murdering the two characters from earlier, and after a moment Naruto decides they must stop the match before Sasuke gets killed.

While Sasuke is preparing his attack, Naruto and Shikamaru reach everyone else and Naruto starts to tell Kakashi why the match needs to be stopped, before his sensei tells him there was a very good reason why he and Sasuke were so late getting there. As Sasuke finishes getting ready with his attack, Kakashi tells them he taught Sasuke this specific move because they’re so alike, and it ends up being his Chidori Lightning Blade that he used during the battle against Zabuza about ten volumes ago, and this attack proves able to break through Gaara’s sand shield!

As the origins of the Chidori move are explained by Guy, Kankuro and Temari are both surprised that Sasuke has broken through Gaara’s sand shield, and after hearing their brother scream about his blood when he realized he was injured, they’re equally surprised that someone has actually hurt Gaara to where he was bleeding (this will be explained in later chapters). When Sasuke frees himself from Gaara’s “ultimate defense”, a large arm made of sand exits as well, before going back into the sand shield and Sasuke notices a very, very different eye in the shield and it basically freezes him in place.

Soon enough, all the members of the audience have fallen asleep via a Genjutsu, which includes Shikamaru and Naruto in the group, while the “Kazekage” launches an attack at the Hokage, which in turn begins an attack on the entire village as Sarutobi realizes this person is NOT the Kazekage but is instead Orochimaru in disguise. As the Sand ninja infiltrate the village Kakashi and Guy protect Sakura, which was able to keep herself awake by releasing the Genjustsu on herself.

The Sound Four (they will have a much larger part in a few volumes) seal Sarutobi and Orochimaru within a barrier that prevents anyone else from getting inside. Their battle begins while Kankuro and Temari grab Gaara and run off with him per their instructor’s orders, and Sasuke follows after them. Soon enough, Kakashi tells Sakura to wake Naruto and Shikamaru, as he has a new A Rank mission for them, which is to track down Sasuke. She does so and they make their way after him with one of Kakashi’s ninja dogs, Pakkun, as their fourth member. While this happens, Sarutobi attempts to stop Orochimaru from using his “reanimation” jutsu, and prevents one out of three coffins(??) from being brought forth, as Sarutobi states he can’t believe Orochimaru has summoned these “spirits”.

And that ends volume 13!! This one leads us from the abrupt ending of the Chunin exams into what is known as the Konoha Invasion arc, and yeah, things are going to be a bit crazy from here on, but bare with me! We’re going to get through every bit of it! 🙂

I really do enjoy these chapters, mostly for the fact of Sasuke being back in the story and his design at this time, but the story is taking it’s turn into an arc that creates a lot of changes later on (no spoilers until we get to those volumes of course haha). While this arc isn’t my favorite of the various arcs in Naruto, it’s still a very good one, and its full of action and fight scenes, which might possibly make for smaller posts over the next two volumes, but you know, it’ll be fine. We’ll get through it, and move to the next part soon, but for now, look forward to volume 14 tomorrow! 🙂

My Spoiler Free Impressions: My Hero Academia

***This post is a look into my personal feelings on the series My Hero Academia. This is not meant to be some deep retrospective where I take apart the series piece-by-piece, but it simply to show the feelings I hold towards this series and some of the characters.***

I think it’s safe to say by now that I’m a very big fan of Shonen manga and anime. I started out as a very young child watching Dragon Ball with my dad in the afternoon on weekdays, and then moved into Pokemon and Yu-Gi-Oh when they were on the Saturday morning on block on what used to be WB (now known as The CW). Those got me into trouble and they were banned from my house for a little while (don’t want to get into details) but eventually they made their way back in and I got back into the series.

Naruto was the first Shonen I watched that I actually remembered the plot. With Dragon Ball, I was young enough that I have a few memories of sitting and watching with my dad and sisters, but I don’t remember all the details of the story (*mental note to go back and rewatch it at some point*). So when I started watching Naruto in January 2007, it became my thing. I stuck with the anime while it was on Toonami, and then moved to manga as my library slowly got more volumes it, and I stuck with it until the manga ended in 2014. I still have yet to finish Shippuden, but I’ll get there eventually. I also own 64 volumes of the manga, and all six of the post-canon light novels that were released in the US.

When the Naruto manga was about to end, I started looking for a replacement series to read. Enter Assassination Classroom, which was my very first manga review on this blog. I was able to keep up through volume 6, but I’ve fallen behind (and I know the manga has ended) and I still enjoy the series very much (it’s my first OT+ rated series!), but it’s going to take me some time to get back into it.

Now, let’s fast forward to this January (2018). I had recently made the decision to subscribe to FunimationNow, Funimation’s streaming service for dubbed anime. I thought this would be a great way to get through some anime while I was on my Christmas break, and it’s proven to be worth it in the three months I’ve had it, I don’t plan to stop subscribing any time soon.

My Hero Academia (MHA) is one of Funimation’s licensed titles. They produce and release the dub version, and release the DVD/BluRay sets as well. I had started thinking about getting into MHA last year, while talking to a friend about it. I really, really wanted to get into the series last year, but because of how busy my schedule was and everything, I couldn’t. It had pushed aside because I was trying to focus on my classes and everything. It was also something that I’m not normally interested in, but I had heard so much good about it that I was interested. I mean, a story about people who have super powers (called Quirks)? That’s so cliche, would I even like it? I’m not into superheroes, but something about this series just grabbed me.

January is when I finally sat down and watched the first two episodes. They hit me with feels and I got close to crying during the end of the second episode. This was right after my spring semester had begun, and that Sunday I had a bunch of homework for one of my classes, so I pulled up the Funimation app on my Kindle and started MHA from where I left off, episode 3.

I finished the first season in a day. All 13 episodes, completed in one day. After that, I had to slowly continue on because of my classes and work. I got sick in mid-Feburary to the point I wasn’t able to go to class or work for three days, so I instead spent that time watching MHA and relaxing.

I finished the second season the week after I was sick, during snow days where my campus was closed. I was hooked. Head-over-heels in love and still am! The series is so fabulous and amazing, I’m eagerly awaiting the third season on Saturday!

I also decided I wanted to read the manga and be ahead of the anime, so I knew was happening, and because I was anxious to see what came next. As of posting this, I’ve finished all 11 volumes that have been released in English, and I’ve purchased 8 out of 12 volumes. This story is so good, it’s amazing. I’m not going to go into plot here, I may do a review of each volume separately at some point, but right now, I just want to go into my favorite characters real quick, starting with my absolute favorite character of the series.

The moment he’s introduced, all you can really think is “what a jerk”. But honestly? Katsuki Bakugo is much more complex character than that. He’s not just a school bully (although he definitely is one at the beginning, I’ll admit that for sure). He’s unbelievably confident with a Quirk that allows him to create explosions from his hands, using his sweat, and he’s determined to be the #1 hero someday. He’s quite antagonistic towards the main character, and almost anyone, but he slowly seems to start getting better, especially considering the events surrounding him in volumes 9 – 11. I understand why some wouldn’t like him, but somehow, SOMEHOW, I got attached to Bakugo immediately, and everything that happens in volumes 10&11 have solidified him as my favorite character in the whole series. He’s got to make up a lot of past wrongs, but he’ll get there. I’m sure of it.

Second, I want to discuss the character who was close to pushing Bakugo out of first place, and that’s Shoto Todoroki. I seem to always go for characters that have sad/dark backgrounds, which makes Todoroki’s place of second on my list very…odd. Normally he’d be in first, and I love him very much, for sure! His story breaks me, it’s heartbreaking, and I still am shocked by everything that happened to him when he was a child. His changes from volume 5 onward are very apparent, and important to his character. He’s a fan favorite all around (having won Best Boy at the Crunchyroll Anime Awards this year), and I’ll definitely say, if Bakugo hadn’t somehow gotten my attention the way he did, Todoroki would be in first place (I’m not gonna say it’s impossible for him to end up tying with Bakugo on my list, that may happen for sure).

Finally, for this post at least, let me talk about our main character, Izuku Midoriya. He is definitely like your typical Shonen protagonist, but he’s also the sweetest one you’ll ever meet. All he wants to do is be a hero that can smile and save people. That’s it. He wants to be like the current #1 Hero, All Might, and a chance encounter gives him what he needs in order to, hopefully, one day do so. He’s a very innocent character, a bit jumpy at times, but he also has a lot of heart and I can’t help, I have to cheer for him in everything that happens in this series. I have to cheer for him to become the #1 hero someday, I have to cheer for him to do well, to hope his friendship with Bakugo can be rescued, to hope his friendships with all his classmates holds. Midoriya is a character you can’t help but cheer for. I’ve never met a main character that was a precious as Izuku Midoriya, and I’ve asked it on Twitter, but I’ll ask it here too: how did we get blessed with such a precious main character??

All in all, even though I didn’t go too terribly in-depth with this post, My Hero Academia is a series that can’t be missed. It’s amazing. The story is getting deeper as we go, the characters are growing up and maturing (especially Bakugo), they’re learning how to use their Quirks the best they can, and they’re taking on villains much sooner than they expected, but they’re doing well.

No series has gripped me this hard and made me fall in love with the characters like this since Naruto. Seriously, NOTHING has taken hold of me like this since then. My Hero Academia is one of those manga that’s going to be remembered and well loved for a long time, and I intend to see it to the end myself.

I might make a second post about this at some point, maybe after I’ve read more of the manga or start reviewing it here, but for now, this is where I’ll stop. I hope to go more in-depth at some point, but we’ll see what happens. 🙂

 

Hello!

It’s been a while since I posted, but, hello readers! I’ve been very busy this semester with school and life, and my current obsession with My Hero Academia (a post or two or twelve about this is coming eventually!) but I wanted to give a quick update!

Naruto read through: I decided early on this year to take a massive break from Naruto, and I haven’t read or watched any for a while. I WILL return to the read through posts this summer, and we WILL have a proper conclusion to this read through that’s been going on for years now.

JapanCrate: I’m still subbed to JapanCrate! I will be getting the April box and will make a post about it. I do not intend to go back and bs my way through the January and February crates, and I had to skip March because of money issues.

Cross stitch: I just made some patterns for my top three My Hero Academia characters, so I’ll hopefully be starting those soon. I’m also still working on my giant Beauty and the Beast kit and then smaller The Lion King kit that I have. I hope to be making posts on all of these as I go.

My Hero Academia: I severely want to do a read through review series about MHA. I just love the series so much and I’m caught up on the official English release! I just got vol. 12 the other day on my Kindle Fire, and I’m loving it so much. Since the third season is starting tomorrow (!!!!), I’ll be watching that as the episodes release each week, and possibly be live tweeting through the episodes!

I don’t have much else to report on today, but I hope this gives you an idea of what to expect in the coming weeks, especially over the summer!!

Previous Older Entries

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 18,109 hits

Calendar

July 2020
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow me on Pinterest!

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow Christian Otaku Reviews on WordPress.com