Manga Monday: Assassination Classroom Volume 4 Review — What, Koro-sensei’s brother?!

***VizMedia did not have a hand in this post other than the publication of the series in the US. They did not provide me with a copy of this book to review. It was done for fun, not monetary gain.***

IMG_20160109_222301IMG_20160109_222310

It’s been a long while, but volume four of Assassination Classroom is a whirlwind of battles, craziness, and more laughs!

This volume opens up where the last one left off, with Irina and her mentor agreeing to a contest that Koro-sensei has come up with: If Irina can “kill” Karasuma first, she will remain in Class-E as their teacher. If not, she’ll leave and her mentor, Lovro, will take over her assassination mission.

It’s a really funny and crazy part, and there’s a lot that goes on with it. Not my favorite part of the volume but, it’s ok. It was interesting to see Irina’s mentor. Lovro is a bit of a jerk though, and I’d much rather not see him again (I really hope we don’t).

The next part in this volume introduces the newest transfer student to Class 3-E. He’s very odd, and doesn’t really act human though, he appears to be one. He also claims to be Koro-sensei’s younger brother! This surprises everyone, especially Koro-sensei, who says he was an only child (and there’s a silly little half panel flashback).

This part was very, very interesting! The new character, Itona, is a very strange guy. He has a massive sweet tooth (reminds me of L from Death Note) and copies some of what Koro-sensei does to make it obvious that they’re brothers. The battle that goes on between the two in the classroom is extremely interesting and crazy. I loved it! I want more battles like that through the rest of the series!

The last couple of chapters of this volume take over with a baseball tournament for the boys. Because they are in Class 3-E, they’re not allowed to compete in the actual tournament, but will take part in an exhibition match. Of course Sugino is a major player in this story arc, since he is the baseball lover of the class. Class 3-E has to take on the school’s Varsity team, and with some training and practice with Koro-sensei, they’re able to take an early lead and shock everyone, even the varsity team’s coach! But, of course, the principal can’t have anything happen that would make the Class 3-E students forget their “place” so he takes over before the end of the volume.

I’m very interested to see how the rest of this baseball tournament arc plays out! I haven’t really flipped through volume 5 since I got it, so I don’t know how it’s going to end, but I feel like I already have an idea, though, I won’t share it here. I’ll share it next time.

So, volume four was a successful volume in my opinion! It had a lot happening, like Assassination Classroom always does, but I love that! It’s so fully of laughs and action, and so many different characters!

Oh, also, after the final chapter of this volume, there are some character models of Nagisa, and I love them so much. Nagisa is such a cutie pie! I love him very much!!

I’ll see you guys next week with my review of volume 5!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 10,068 hits

Calendar

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow me on Pinterest!

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow Christian Otaku Reviews on WordPress.com
