December 2016 JapanCrate

My apologies in advance if this is the only post, besides what I am gifted on Christmas Day, for this month that’s a review or something, but I’ve been very busy and been sick this week. :/

BUT, that’s not going to stop me from giving a quick overview and review of this month’s JapanCrate! And yes, I will have another next month! 🙂

So here’s the overview pictures! I love getting this red box, it’s so fun! The little booklet is cute too, and explains some things about Christmas in Japan, and tells you more about the snacks! I had to use flash for these, as I’m having some lighting issues in my room right now. But, I did my best, and here we go with the overview of the snacks!

img_20161221_193723

The first item in this box is the Sakuranbo no Uta. This is a cherry flavored candy that apparently is supposed to have a resemblance to cherry pie with whipped cream on it. I’m not a huge fan of cherries, but cherry pie is the exception, haha. I can’t wait to try these and see how they taste.

img_20161221_193708

Next we have the Uma wa Vegetable Salad Flavor. This apparently is made by the makers of the Umaibo sticks, and these are rings instead of full sized stick. These are supposed to taste like a salad with dressing on it, and I really hope these taste good. I thought they sounded interesting when I saw them on JapanCrate’s Twitter, and they really do sound tasty!

img_20161221_193942

Our third snack is the Animal Lesson Choco. These are chocolate creme filled cookies with animals on them! These remind me of the Hello Panda cookies, and I bet they’re exactly the same, just with different designs on the front. Can’t wait to try them out!

img_20161221_193955

This is a very interesting snack. It’s called Yakimo Yokan, and it’s a roasted sweet potato flavored gelatin dessert. Yes, this is a gelatin snack. It’s squishy, and I actually am excited to try it, as I love sweet potatoes. I’m sure it’s going to be delicious cold~

img_20161221_193651

This is another one I’m super excited to try! These are Harvest Biscuit Matcha flavor. So, basically, they seem to be crackers that have a matcha flavor to them. I recently discovered that I actually really like matcha flavored snacks, so, I’m really excited to try this out and see how it tastes!

img_20161221_193930

This next item is called Tsundermon Gum. And yes, it’s tsunder like from tsundere. These are meant to be like the tsundere trope, of going from sour (mean or cold) to sweet (nice or open). It’s in a lemon flavor, and looks like it’ll be tasty. I hope it isn’t too sour lol.

img_20161221_193740

This snack is the Morokoshi wa ta Ro. These are just corn puff snacks it seems. The package is cute, and I like corn puff snacks, so, these should be a win for me. 🙂

img_20161221_193755

Next up, this is the Grapefruit & Orange Nodo Ame. These are grapefruit and orange flavored hand candies that have vitamin C in them. I personally love grapefruits, and a candy in that flavor sounds wonderful! And after being sick this week, I need the vitamin C, lol!

img_20161221_193841

Next is the Anpanman Pero Pero Chocolate. This is basically a chocolate lollipop, and it’s got an Anpanman character as the design! I don’t actually know this character’s name, but it looks delicious. If anyone knows this character’s name, please tell me!

img_20161221_194011

Now we have the DIY kit that was included, the Green Tea Choco Mochi kit. Because of a shortage from their supplier, JapanCrate had to make a substitution from the slime kit featured in the booklet to this one, which isn’t a bad thing, they let us know in the emails with our tracking number, which is great, and I think this kit will be better than the slime kit honestly. I might try to record this one, since it’s a DIY kit, but, we’ll just have to see.

img_20161221_194028

Getting down to the last few items, we have the drink that was included in this box! This is the Double Sparkling Yuzu & Lemon soda. I’ve never had yuzu before, but it being citrus and in a soda with lemon actually sounds delicious. I’ll have to get this chilled and try it out soon!

img_20161221_193912

Another one I’ve never tried before, we have the strawberry flavored Calpico mini. The best way I know to describe these is kind of like astronaut food, but also not, from what I’ve seen and heard. The booklet describes this as a crunchy cone with an airy chocolate in the middle, with the one I received being strawberry flavored. I’m really excited to finally try one of these, I’ve been dying to for years!

img_20161221_193827

This time around, our bonus item is another package of candy! This is the Kakushi Ume-dama, an ume flavored hard candy. Ume is pickled plum, and I’ve actually had an ume flavored gum in the past that I honestly loved. These are supposed to have at least one very sour candy in the bag, which isn’t a problem for me as I love sour candies.

img_20161221_193859

This, honestly, is the one thing I was not excited to see in my box. This is the Long Cola Gum, two long pieces of cola flavored gum. I absolutely cannot stand the taste of Coca-Cola, and a cola flavored gum does not sound the least bit appealing to me. But, I will try it. I will probably share it with my three sisters, and we’ll see how it is.

img_20161221_193812And finally, we have the Pure Gummy Puchi Sankaku Lemon. This is a tiny package of lemon flavored gummies, and they’re supposed to taste like lemonade. I showed this to my mom and at first we both thought it was just one piece, until she held it up to the light and we saw it’s more than just one. Here’s hoping they taste delicious!

img_20161221_194131

Despite the cola gum, I’m very excited for all the snacks in this box! I can’t wait to try them out, and see what each one tastes like. I’ll try to get individual reviews up for these snacks while I’m on break, but I might be a bit busy for that (I know I will be very busy next month and probably unable to do that with the January box, but we’ll see).

I do, honestly, highly recommend JapanCrate, even if I don’t get boxes from them often. They do have a store open on their website now, and I might have to make an order for past snacks I haven’t tried, but that’s just another thing we’ll have to see about. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 8,898 hits

Calendar

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow me on Pinterest!

Follow Me on Pinterest
Follow Christian Otaku Reviews on WordPress.com
